Are Churches Like Cell Phone Carriers?

We recently changed cell phone carriers. I covered the reasons why HERE. After about a year long evaluation and process, we chose a church to call “home” too. So what in the name of data plans could they possibly have in common?

A lot more than you think.

Track with me here. Let’s assume that the “source” of each establishment is the same. There are so many great churches in our city and in our town. Each church is “doing church” the best way their leadership team knows how. There’s no shortage of established churches, mega churches and new church plants. A visit to each one will offer a different experience and (hopefully) a common goal.

There’s no shortage of cell phone carriers and companies in this city either. There are well established giants like Verizon, Sprint and AT&T. You also have startups like Smart Talk, Virgin Mobile and others all competing for new subscribers to join.

Now let me get this out of the way, one of these examples is a business and the other is not. That’s not really the point of this little rabbit trail. I’m not making any kind of comparison about their “business.” There is not one to make.

Now back to my point. We left Verizon, quite possibly the most popular cell phone carrier in town. Most everyone I know uses Verizon. They like Verizon. I liked Verizon. Yet when we looked at adding our daughter to the plan, it just didn’t make the most sense for our family. Great company. Great things to offer. Not a match for us.

I was talking to a friend this week about this thought. His wife’s family lives in South Africa. T-Mobile offers international calling. They also have prepaid phone plans that fit his family dynamics. So he uses T-Mobile. Works out well for them and they are happy.

We’re a music loving family. Not only does T-Mobile have a plan that fits our budget, they also have unlimited streaming of popular music sites like Pandora and Spotify. Perfect for our family. Perfect for our budget. Their coverage areas leave some room to be desired but every carrier has a “but.” The one we’re willing to navigate around is the coverage area. Everything else fits.

Yet another friend of mine is a huge NFL fan. Loves him some NFL. The other day he was just giddy to show me his NFL streaming on his Verizon phone. It was a great choice for him. I follow the NFL, but it’s not something I would seek out in a cell phone carrier. It’s just not something that fits what me or my family would use or find that important.

But this isn’t about T-Mobile or Verizon or Sprint’s Framily plan or whatever AT&T has to offer.

I wonder if our churches and why we choose them is similar to the choice of cell phone carriers. At the end of the day, none of the carriers are wrong or bad or evil (at least not that I know of). They all are approaching the same thing differently. What one might have, another might not. It doesn’t make them wrong or bad, it just makes them different.

The funny thing about the friends I mentioned above is that prior to our conversations, I had no idea who their cell phone providers were. I’m not really hung up on who has what provider and why. To be honest, I’m just glad they have a phone when I need to call or text them.

One thing I’ve really learned over the past few years is that maybe the church that you and I and others choose should be the same way. Maybe we get kinda hung up on the why or the what and really all that matters is that they call one “home.” They have taken the time to evaluate what’s a best fit for them. Like the providers I mentioned above, what fits one may not fit another. The key is that they have one.

I get really excited about the things that my current cell phone provider has to offer. You may not find those things exciting. You might hate that the coverage isn’t as strong as another provider and that’s okay. Really, it is okay. If you’re happy with your provider, then I’m happy for you. I trust you’ve taken the time to do your due diligence and made the best choice for you and your family. I know we did.

I’ve been asked a lot recently about churches, staying, leaving, finding and what to seek. I’ll be honest, it is absolutely a matter of best fit for you and your family. There are so many great churches and each one has different things to offer. It’s all really about what you’re seeking and a best fit.

Just make sure you’re seeking Him.

Make sure you’re seeking a best fit where you and your family can serve and use your gifts and talents.

Plug in.

Find community.

Serve.

Invest.

Invite.

Grow.

Sorry, I gotta take this call…..

One thought on “Are Churches Like Cell Phone Carriers?

Leave a Reply

