Should Christians See Noah?

noah-darren-aronofsky-russel-crowe-watch-first-trailer-movie-released-2014

Several months ago I saw the first preview trailer for the upcoming movie “Noah.” Immediately I was thrilled to see Hollywood grasping a story that we have all heard since we were little. The powerful trailer showed a film that appeared to be more realistic than the little wooden cartoon boats we grew up with. Lets be honest, when you read the story of Noah (Genesis 5:32-10:1), you see a story of tragedy, death and ultimately hope. As the date for release draws nearer, there are now articles being written on if Christians should actually see the film. There are questions of how closely it holds to scripture. There are debates about the intent of Hollywood in making the film.

I need to be clear and say that I have not seen the film. Any comments I make here are just my opinion based on what I have read and heard about it. There is, however, an outstanding resource from someone very close to the film and its adaptation. John Snowden, the Biblical Consultant to filmmakers on the ‘Noah’ movie recently published an article on The Christian Post entitled “Why People of Faith Can Embrace the ‘Noah’ Movie. I highly recommend this article as it gives real insight from someone directly related to the film. His points on what we can take away are worth considering. Read John Snowden’s post (HERE).

A few years ago, Hollywood released two different films where Morgan Freeman played the role of God. The second of these movies, “Evan Almighty,” portrayed a modern day version of the story of Noah. Since the release of both movies, I have seen parts used in sermons as analogies. I’ve seen quotes (and maybe even quoted them on this blog) used as well. Neither film was portrayed as “Christian.” While I don’t remember there being a big debate when either one was released, there may have been. I think we need to give this film a chance. We need to have an open mind.

Since that first trailer hit the web, I noted many of my Christian friends posting it on their facebook pages and other social media outlets. Each one celebrating its release. My guess is we all want movies like “Noah” made so we can visually see the stories we grew up hearing. We want our friends and family to know the stories as well. We want to discuss it just like any other film we see. Again, I think we need to give this film a chance. Anything that opens discussion is an opportunity.

When I read scripture, one recurring story is that God used some very messed up, fallen people and things to create beauty. The Bible is a book full of the unthinkable becoming just what God used. Maybe this film is no different. Let’s give it a chance. Let’s pray that God will use this film, no matter what, to do what only God can do.

2 thoughts on “Should Christians See Noah?

  1. Your article brings up one of my favorite topics – what exactly is a “Christian” movie? Do they have to be stories from the Bible as written? Aren’t movies about characters that reflect Christian values; service, simplicity, humility, integrity, compassion… just as Christian? To me “To Kill a Mockingbird” is a more Christian movie than DeMille’s “The Ten Commandments”.

    Just like I believe that Christians should attend the services of other religions to see what’s alike and what’s different for themselves, I think they should see any kind of movies that interest them, for any reason.

    Having worked in that industry (I’m in health care now), I have high personal requirements for quality, no matter what a film is purported to be about. So it does matter to me if they are made by “real” filmmakers, ones with a track record, on a sensible budget, employing professionals. The kids’ Christmas pageant is fine at church. I’m not paying $9-$10 to see it in a theater. Trailers provide a lot of clues to me. If the filmmakers couldn’t find 2-3 minutes of excellence to put in a commercial, it’s a guarantee the full-length version will be worse.

    Noah was made by a good writer-director, with A-list actors. They spent a decent amount of money to hire professional craftspeople to make it convincing to watch. By my criteria, it’s a calculated positive risk. If I don’t agree with their Biblical interpretation, it’s not going to magically damage my faith.

Leave a Reply

