Two Minute Drill

9781433680717_p0_v1_s260x420While we were on vacation last week, I had the opportunity to get caught up on a few books I was sent to review. By far the one that hit closest to home was a book called “The Two Minute Drill to MANHOOD – A Proven Game Plan For Raising Sons” by John Croyle. With Fathers Day fast approaching, I HIGHLY recommend this is a gift for the Dads/Husbands/Brothers in your life. It’s a quick read but filled with vital information about raising children. It’s a handbook that each of us Dads can use.

John Croyle was an All-American defensive end at the University of Alabama during head coach Paul “Bear” Bryant’s legendary tenure. Faced with the decision to play professional football or to start a home for abused and neglected children, John established Big Oak Boys’ Ranch in 1974. Today the outreach also includes a girls ranch and a Christian school.

This book hit me a few times. Based on Croyl’s proven MANHOOD model, Two Minute Drill will quickly guide you through the following steps:

M – MASTER
A – ASK AND LISTEN
N – NEVER COMPROMISE
H – HANDLE YOUR BUSINESS
O – ONE PURPOSE
O – ONE BODY
D – DON’T EVER, EVER, EVER GIVE UP

My copy of this great book is filled with underlines. One of them hit home. Very close to home:

If your church and your activities are your master, you’ve got it wrong. If church leadership is your master, again, you’ve got it wrong. Nowhere in the Bible does God tell us to sacrifice our families on the altar of ministry, there has to be balance.

If you know my story, you know why that is a very, very powerful statement. I actually read it as confirmation of recent decisions. He also encouraged the reader to do the following: “If you want to find out the honest truth about what’s important in your life, ask a four-year-old.” I don’t have a four-year-old in my home but I do have children that are eight, ten and twelve. When the time was right during vacation, I asked them what they thought was important in my life. Their responses were as follows:

8 year old – “Mom”

10 year old – “Church”

12 year old – “Us”

I highly recommend the book “The Two Minute Drill to MANHOOD” for the men in your life. Dads, I highly recommend picking up a copy for yourself too. Trust me, we all need to be reminded of priorities and a reminder of how to raise our little ones.

I give “Two Minute Drill” a 5 out of 5. 

“Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

