Review – Connecting Church & Home

Connecting-Church-and-HomeWhat a tremendous honor it was for me to recently receive the new book by Dr. Tim Kimmel called “Connecting Church & Home.” I say “honor” because the timing could not have been more perfect. Since leaving Corporate America for ministry about 6 months ago, there have been many adjustments which needed to be made. One at the very top of my list was incorporating family and church. Since our children were little, we’ve always been a family that was deeply involved in our church. Now we are a family that is deeply involved in ministry…

and it scares me to death.

We all know the stories. We’ve all heard the initials “PK” and 9 times out of 10, they are not followed by a growing endorsement. So how in the world do you balance the necessities of ministry with the necessities of family? In the book “Connecting Church & Home” you will find some great wisdom and insight to answer these kinds of questions. Now before you dismiss this book as only for Pastoral Staff, let me say that this is a resource for all parents. Dr. Kimmel gives a roadmap and insight into the balance it takes to understand the role of the church and the role of the family.

These lines can often become blurred.

As I read the book, I was reminded how thankful I am for my wife. From their early ages, my wife has invested a great deal of time in making sure that our children are receiving an understanding of their faith at home. We’ve never expected the church to be the one to teach our children about their faith. Church is more of an additional resource for what they are learning at home. It’s an exceptional resource, but a resource and not the sole source.

In Connecting Church & Home, you will read just how to strike this balance in your home too. This was a great read and one that I recommend for all that have the opportunity to read it. It’s a short, fast read and the contents far outweigh the size. We’re all in this together so any time I have the opportunity to share a great resource, I try to do so. This is one such resource and, as I said, I’m honored to have had the opportunity to review it.

I give Connecting Church & Home a 5 out of 5. 

“Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

