The Utter Relief of Holiness

f09e51d40c3eee74596345ceaa71e006One of the more incredible things about the recent 21 Day fast is it allowed me to focus on a stack of books I needed to review. Each of the books seemed to speak directly to things I either have been or should be wrestling with. One such book was “The Utter Relief of Holiness – How God’s Goodness Frees Us from Everything that Plagues Us” by John Eldredge. Released on January 8th, I actually had the opportunity to review it earlier but was fasting social media (which included this blog) too. Now that I’m back I can report that this book gave me spiritual nourishment and much to ponder as the 21 Days moved along.

If I’m honest, I have not read any of the books that John Eldredge has released since I read “Wild At Heart.” Don’t misunderstand, it’s not because I had a problem with “Wild At Heart” or John Eldredge. It’s actually just the opposite. Reading “The Utter Relief of Holiness” reminded me how much I really enjoy his writing and crafting of words. “Wild At Heart” pretty much wrecked me in many ways and those were all things that very much needed to happen. What you find in this book is a reminder that the work of Christ has already been done. We can rest knowing we don’t earn our holiness. In doing so, we actually begin a journey towards understanding an entirely different level of holiness.

This is a journey to the healing of our humanity. Through this journey you will find that in the healing is an entirely new concept of what it means to be holy. I enjoyed the book and am actually thinking about going back to read some of the works of John Eldredge between “Wild At Heart” and this book. I also plan to revisit this book often as I don’t know that finishing achieves the goal. Learning to heal our humanity and becoming holy are processes which take constant refining. “Utter Relief of Holiness” is a great companion for just that purpose.

I give “The Utter Relief of Holiness” a 3.5 out of 5
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Leave a Reply

