Review – Greater

Oh the timing of this book and my need to review it. Words cannot accurately tell the story (at least not yet). One reason is because the story isn’t completely written. There is a big finish which I fully anticipate bringing this whole thing together. Until then, let me just stick with why this is one of the best books I’ve read in 2012. Not long ago, I sat in a conference in San Diego. What happened that day was a defining moment telling me I was not where I needed to be. Fast forward about 6 weeks later and it happened again. This time it was sitting in a cubicle. Complete clarity that something bigger (greater) was calling me out. 4 weeks ago my position was eliminated in a reduction in workforce. While shocked, I was not surprised.

God had something Greater

Today’s review is for the book Greater: Dream Bigger. Start Smaller. Ignite God’s Vision for Your Life. by Steven Furtick. While I have been an admirer of Steven Furtick and Elevation Church (I actually sent them a resume 2 weeks ago), this was my first time reading one of his books. You can bet I am going to dig up my wife’s copy of his Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible book and read it now too. If it’s anything like “Greater”, I know it will be amazing.

Greater is book that will speak to most people that are tired of the ordinary. You are stuck. You know there is something better, bigger, GREATER that God is calling you to. Basing his case on the life of Elisha, Furtick makes a compelling charge to break away from the usual. He makes the call for anyone that is a Christian to seek more. Answer a call that is to do something with greater eternal value. If it means leaving your current job (for example), have the confidence and faith to make that leap. Just as Elisha left the field and “burned his plows”, we should step into greater and leave yesterday behind.

You probably see now why this hit me right where I live. I found so much great material in this book. I believe most, if not all, of it will come into play in the next few weeks. Steven Furtick gives us a road map and a manual for searching for Greater. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and highly recommend it!

I give “Greater” a 5 out of 5

“Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

2 thoughts on “Review – Greater

  1. I can’t wait to read this. I have received my 2nd rejection letter in my job search and was feeling a little lost and unsure today, but I as I read this, I don’t believe in any coincidences, even stumping upon your blog so many weeks ago. God is moving in my life, and I too, am writing a bigger story, that I don’t know what the end is yet, if there is one, but I am enjoying the journey and watching each day unfold. I will definitely read this book, and thanks for the blog and the encouragement whether you know it or not, your story is encouraging… Thanks

    1. Can’t wait to hear what you think of it Jennifer. I know it really spoke to me and inspired me to really, as the book says, “Dream Big – Start Small”. I hope you begin to get some momentum and find the exact place where God wants you in this season of your life. Keep me posted!

Leave a Reply

