Review – Tough Guys and Drama Queens

Are you a parent? Do you have that fear somewhere in your mind of the day that your child hits the teenage years? I have three little people in my home and I have this fear. Since our kids didn’t come with an instruction book, we’ve done our best to navigate these early years. We’ve read books, we’re asked a lot of questions. We think we’re doing “alright”, but one never knows.

In his new book called “Tough Guys and Drama Queens“, Mark Gregston gives us all a reminder that the teenage years are difficult. With over 35 years of experience in working with troubled teens, Mark Gregston speaks from experience. He has seen many parents that thought they were doing all the right things as they missed all of the signs. This book is a road map for all of us as we do what we can to raise our children.

“When I was your age…..”

Remember that phrase? We all heard it growing up. We all remember thinking “yeah, but it’s different now”. I remember this often as I look at the new world that my children live in. They are dealing with things we never even imagined. They are flooded with images, media and messages that were once taboo. The challenges they encounter every day are far beyond what we ever faced. “Tough Guys and Drama Queens” is a reminder to be on guard. Even if we think we’re doing a good job today, the many challenges we face from the world around us will present new obstacles as our little ones reach the tough teenage years.

This is a manual for all of us, no matter where you are on the parental timeline. If you’re in the teenage years now and struggling to grab a foothold, this book is for you. If you in those “tween” years, this book is for you. If your raising a toddler, this book is for you. Gregston does a good job of reaching every group and delivering a message of warning and hope. I appreciate the opportunity to review this book and hope it helps us as we navigate the years ahead.

I give “Tough Guys and Drama Queens” a 4 out of 5

“Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

5 thoughts on “Review – Tough Guys and Drama Queens

  1. I’m writing to ask if you’re interested in reviewing on your blog and on Amazon the just-released book, The Mormonizing of America: How the Mormon Religion Became a Dominant Force in Politics, Entertainment, and Pop Culture by New York Times bestselling author Stephen Mansfield (Worthy Publishing, 2012. If so, please contact me: jpetersen AT somersaultgroup DOT com. Thanks! Jonathan Petersen

Leave a Reply

