Review – My Imaginary Jesus

Well now, that was certainly interesting. I received the book “My Imaginary Jesus” by Matt Mikalatos a couple of months ago and due to a packed schedule, I just now got to it. I had no idea when I received it what I was actually getting. You see I don’t usually read a lot of fiction books. It’s just not something I find all that interesting. I’d rather watch the movie. When it comes to books, I would much rather read something non-fiction. It makes me feel smarter or something.

As I read the first chapter and then the second and third, I kept waiting for the analogies to be over and the educational part of the book to begin. It never happened. Maybe if I would have paid more attention to the outside of the book, I would have realized that this is a fictional book wrapped in a parable of sorts. My Imaginary Jesus is a very humorous modern day story about a guy (Matt) literally chasing after the guy he thought was Jesus in his life. Matt is joined by the Apostle Peter too. It is quirky, funny and yet creates a natural pause to think about what you’ve created as Jesus in your life.

Matt Mikalatos has a gift of story telling. As I said, I’m not a fiction reader, but I was pulled into this story due to the fast paced, comedic writing. In many ways, Matt writes like I think. So for guys, it’s an entertaining read. Think Donald Miller and CS Lewis with, as the cover says, “Monty Python” as well. While I enjoyed the book, it is not really my style. If you’re a fiction reader you will really enjoy it. If you are just looking for a book that is both entertaining and challenging, it will also fit the bill. Here’s the official trailer for the book:

“Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

