Review – Girl In Progress

Several weeks ago my friends at Buzzplant sent me a login to review an upcoming move called “Girl In Progress“. I sat down with my wife one night to preview it with the link they sent me and realized it was a 48 hour window and I had missed it. After several failed opportunities to try to see it again, they were kind enough to send me one final login which I used this evening (the same night that the film was released in theaters). So although this is late, here is my review of the film.

In a word…interesting. This is truly a coming of age story. A mom that is struggling with her place in the world and a daughter that decides to live out her own coming of age story. She literally maps out all of the things she will need to do in order to make the self fulfilled prophecy come true. From her research, she has all of the key moments in her story planned and begins to execute them one at a time. I won’t give away the entire plot, but it does make for interesting viewing. While not a fast paced, action packed film, there are some lighter moments that keep it moving along.

To be honest, this is not a film I would take my girls to see (ages 7 and 9). I think the content is above their head and one subject matter was not something I really want to discuss with them at this time. This would be more for a pre-teen to teenage audience. The acting is good and the list of actors/actresses are recognizable. I didn’t love the film, but I didn’t hate it either. There is a nice finish, but in my opinion it took a long time to get there. I would like to have seen the ending start much sooner and be given more time. You’ll understand when you see it.

I give “Girl In Progress” a 3 out of 5.

“Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the
Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

One thought on “Review – Girl In Progress

  1. What i do not realize is in fact how you are no longer actually a lot more neatly-preferred than you
    might be right now. You are very intelligent.
    You realize thus significantly relating to this subject, made me individually imagine it from
    so many numerous angles. Its like women and men aren’t fascinated until it is one thing to do with Woman gaga!
    Your own stuffs nice. Always maintain it up!

Leave a Reply

