Our Favorite Sins – Review

Quick, name me the top sins that you think a book about sins and how to beat them would cover. My guess is that a majority of what you listed would not be the main focus of the book that I am reviewing today. Surprising, yes. However, this book, and the sins covered come from recent studies by that Barna Group (included in the appendix of the book) which really are what people struggle with most.

Anxiety, procrastinating, over eating, addiction to media, and laziness

Are any of those what was at the top of your list? Maybe a few were, but the point here is that this book reaches us all. While the specific sin that you might have been thinking of isn’t listed, there is a practical look at how we can address each sin in our lives. These happen to be what research shows, but we all deal with sin. We all don’t like to talk about it. Using spiritual healing as it’s base, “Our Favorite Sins” will start  you down the path of thinking through those challenges in your own life. While no book (outside of the Bible) will be the silver bullet, Our Favorite Sins is a good place to start.

I found the first few chapters to be just “okay” but the final chapters were much more in depth. Overall it was a quick read and I would recommend it as a good spiritual challenge to the reader. It brings light to places that we often don’t like to consider and that is never a bad thing. We’re all on a journey to somewhere. “Our Favorite Sins” will help make sure that we’re pointed in the right direction.

“Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the
Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

