Review – Deadline

On Sunday night my wife and I had the opportunity to preview a new movie releasing soon called “Deadline“. We watched it streaming from my iPhone through our TV and it wasn’t until it was over that I realized I had it set for 3G and not on our Wi-Fi network. In other words I burned about 2 hours of data plan. But hey, this review isn’t about me, it’s about the movie….

Deadline is a film inspired by a true story (sorta like this blog…). Based in Nashville, Tennessee (pause for respect and love of one of my favorite cities…..) and Alabama, Deadline is about an unsolved, uninvestigated and unpunished murder of an African American youth. The story is important on so many levels. To be honest, while I found it powerful when I watched it, it has resonated with me for a few days ever since. While many things have changed over the years with regard to race and equality, there are many places that are still well behind where our culture should be.

Deadline stars Academy Award Nominee Eric Roberts but I would be lying if I said that the acting was Academy Award worthy. It wasn’t terrible but it wasn’t great either. I also need to be honest and say that I was originally not going to write a review. I just felt that I wouldn’t give the film the kind of credit it might deserve. However I believe Deadline should be seen and the story should be heard. For that reason, I am going to recommend it to those that read this blog. You can see a preview for the movie below.

“Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the
Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

