Real Marriage – Review

Ladies and gentleman, I would like to introduce you to Pastor Mark Driscoll. Several years ago, a friend sent me a link to the video below. I watched it and wasn’t quite sure how to process what I just saw. The more I watched it, the more I loved it. It was as raw as raw can get. It was what needed to be said but no one wanted to say it. It was a wake up call to the church. It wasn’t received by some and was well received by others. Watch it for yourself.

 

So what in the world could that video possibly have to do with the new book by Mark and Grace Driscoll called “Real Marriage – The Truth About Sex, Friendship & Life Together“? In order to understand the book, in order to understand my review, you need to understand Mark Driscoll. If you don’t understand Mark Driscoll, you will most likely be shocked by the honest, open and edgy discussions within this book. So let’s start there. Let’s understand a little bit about Mark Driscoll:

1. He is growing several churches in the most unchurched city in the United States. (Seattle)

2. He is relevant in the area in which he ministers.

3. He reaches the twenty something crowd that is immersed in a world that has little shock value anymore.

4. His language is strong, but his theology and doctrine are even stronger

5. He has caused controversy in the past and will cause it again.

So why the talking points? Why go through all of this before I ever once talk about this book? Because it’s important. This isn’t a Max Lucado/Billy Graham (of which I love both) book on marriage. This isn’t a book that softly touches on the issues of sex for example. It’s Mark and Grace Driscoll and it’s “going there” on topics that need to be discussed. Some will hate the book. Others will appreciate it for it’s honest approach. I, for one, am a member of the second group. I appreciate the honesty. I appreciate the candor and the uninhibited nature with which they share what needs to be shared.

Much like the video above, “Real Marriage” isn’t just Mark Driscoll being Mark Driscoll. It’s honest truth backed by theological foundation and truth. Could someone have said it differently? Sure. Would some people rather read it written in a different context? Sure. Yet there are many (myself included) that believe we need this kind of truth. The world in which we live surrounds us by images far stronger and language far more graphic. This book, like Driscoll’s preaching is being relevant to the culture with which we live. Simple as that. There is so much good in this book that you need to see past what might offend or not sit well with you. You need to understand the broader audience. For that reason, I am recommending “Real Marriage”.

I give Real Marriage a 4 out of 5.

“Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

