Review – The Whore of Akron

This one wasn’t a gift. I didn’t get a free copy to review to promote the book. So why on earth would a guy pick up a book with such a title? Simple, I’m from Cleveland. We do this to ourselves. We continue to open the wounds of our sports teams and cry with one another as we get ready for “next year”. I wanted to know what the author, Scott Raap, might have discovered about the kid from Akron that crushed a city while taking his talents to South Beach.

Sadly, I didn’t find anything I haven’t already known as a Clevelander and fan of the Cavaliers. Lebron is a child, quitter and can’t handle the pressure of the 4th quarter. Basically that is what it boils down to. It might sound like I didn’t like the book, but is some strange way, I did. It was like sitting around with another friend from Cleveland and being miserable together. The author is a native Clevelander that calls it his “mission” to discover the soul of Lebron James. Not surprisingly, he didn’t find any. The only thing he found was joy in Lebron not winning a championship last year. But as he pointed out, Cleveland didn’t either.

The language throughout the book is strong. It can be offensive and yet I get it. It’s raw emotion of fans that have lived and breathed Cleveland sports. It’s the bitter pill we swallowed when “one of our own” treated a city like it did nothing for him. I’ve always said, I don’t care what Lebron did, it was HOW he did it. Scott Raap cares what and how. The brighter portions of the book come in his stories of his own son. They provide relief from, what can at times be, a very depressing rehashing of “the decision”.

I did not hate or love this one. I can’t recommend that you buy or not buy it. For those from Cleveland, I would say that you’ll understand and maybe even enjoy it too. Those outside Cleveland probably will think it’s a bitter 250 something pages of hate. Either way, Lebron is still gone and the city moves on. Time for me to do the same.

Leave a Reply

