Steve Jobs Review Part II

I covered my thoughts on the first part of the book “Steve Jobs” by Walter Isaacson last week (HERE). Tonight I finished the book and it was worth the time I spent reading it. Again, I am not an idol worshipper of Steve Jobs or Apple. I find it sad I even have to mention that. However I’ve noticed that it’s been fairly common for that to be mentioned with anyone that might say something about their appreciation for either of those two things. Silly..

There was nothing in the second half of the book that made me change much of my thoughts from the first half. I find Steve Jobs to have been an incredible contrast of many things within his own person. He had more money than you or I could imagine, yet that is not why he had insane drive to build Apple. At the end of the day, he was passionate about style and great products. It is what made him stick so closely to the complete control over software, hardware and the entire user experience. It drove him to create his own stores so that the people shopping in them would be helped by people that understood the difference. Remarkable.

The second half also brought out more of his personal side. Much of this was driven by his cancer and how it forced him to realize his mortality. What’s crazy is that he often wouldn’t deal with the thoughts of it, often acting as if he was cured. This may have cost him the opportunity to beat what was thought to be a treatable form of cancer. His delay and avoidance may have cost him that opportunity. It also may have led him to create incredible, world changing products because he knew his time was limited.

The second half of the book also gave a glimpse into his family. While he was married to Apple, he also loved his family. He admits that neglecting time with them was one of his greatest regrets. Yet, I believe his children will have a major impact in this world before it’s all said and done. His son is already working at cancer study the way that Steve Jobs worked with technology at his age. It will be interesting to see how they grow and what they become.

The question so many want to know is about his faith. I found it interesting that he did mention God in a few places in the book. The times and moments can’t be overlooked. The 2nd phone call he made to inform a friend he had cancer began by Steve saying “do you believe in God….because I have cancer”. We’ll never know, this side of Heaven, what Steve Jobs believed or came to believe. I do think he considered God as his time was drawing to a close. Just my thoughts.

Walter Isaacson did a wonderful job honoring Steve Jobs while still painting a portrait of who he really was. There is no sugarcoating or cover up. It’s worth the investment to purchase it. It’s worth the time to read it.

I give “Steve Jobs” by Walter Isaacson a solid 5 out of 5. 

Leave a Reply

