Steve Jobs Review Part I

Like a gazillion other people, I obtained (downloaded in iBook) a copy of Walter Isaacson‘s new book “Steve Jobs“. (Soap Box Alert) I’m not an idolater. I’m not evil. I don’t worship Steve Jobs (especially after reading half of this book) and I don’t worship Apple. I just like a good read. Being in Corporate America and Leadership, I also enjoy learning. So, I downloaded a copy for $16.99 and started reading it earlier this week. Below are just random thoughts from the first half of the book:

  • I am amazed that Jobs never read the manuscript for this book. Neither did his wife.
  • Having not followed Apple all that closely, I find his repeated failure inspiring. He never gave up.
  • He would never admit that he failed. But he did. Repeatedly.
  • I am shocked that one conversation with a Sunday School teacher would close his mind to Christianity and yet he spent a majority of his 20’s seeking alternative beliefs…passionately.
  • His fad diets and obsession of vegan lifestyle sound insane.
  • He loved his Mom and Dad, even though he was adopted.
  • Though he loved his parents, it didn’t keep him from treating them poorly too.
  • He admired everything his father taught him and it could be seen in his work.
  • Isaacson does a tremendous job of outlining the many things in his life that molded and shaped his obsessive personality and attention to detail.
  • He was a jerk. No other way to say it. I think he got softer as he aged, but early on, he was a jerk.
  • He held no loyalty to even his closest friends and repeatedly stepped on them for his own good.
  • I have no doubt that he had some seriously personality conflict. Huge mood swings and narcissistic behavior.
  • His treatment of his daughter born out of wedlock was beyond disappointing.
  • He was quick to throw money at business ventures, even if they were failing completely. Yet through the first half of the book, there is little if any mention of charitable contributions.
These are but a few of the thoughts as I read the first half. Isaacson did a tremendous job giving a glimpse of Steve Jobs while still remaining unbiased and respectful. Given that Jobs gave him full access and hand picked him to write this biography, it would be understandable if he leaned more on the great qualities and avoided the controversial side. Yet that is who Steve Jobs was and the author does a good job of not shying away from it. I’ll post more after I complete the second half of the book. I’m looking forward to getting in to the story of the incredible turnaround of Apple and the moments which literally changed the world.
More to come.

Leave a Reply

