Review – Primal

I am way behind on some book reviews so I am going to get all caught up on the next few posts. First off is “Primal” by Mark Batterson. I am sad to admit this, but this is the first book by Mark Batterson which I have read. I have always heard great things and actually own the book “Wild Goose Chase“. I just never got around to reading it.

I was drawn to this book immediately. I like Batterson’s ability to tell a story. He pulls you directly into personal experiences of either himself or others as you read the book. The central focus on this book is Mark 12:30 which instructs us to “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.” If you’re like me, you have probably read that scripture devotionally but never really spent time meditating on what it really means.

In “Primal”, Mark Batterson challenges the reader to love God in more meaningful and deep ways. Specific detail is given to loving God with all your heart (compassion), soul (wonder), mind (curiosity), and strength (energy) through what Batterson refers to as  love to the fourth power. He does this through stories from both his personal life and those of others.

“Primal” is a pretty quick read and worth the time you’ll invest doing so. It will challenge you to reconsider these important words and commands in new and fresh ways.

I give “Primal” a 4 out of 5. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: Multnomah Publishers sent me a free copy of this book as part of their bloggers book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

