Review – "Max On Life"

Unlike most book reviews, this one is personal. If you have followed this blog at all, you know that I am a huge fan of Max Lucado. Fan might not be the best word. I’m an admirer of Max Lucado. In many ways I have grown in my faith because of Max Lucado. When I say that, I know I am not alone. Millions of people have read Max’s books and found inspiration, healing and purpose.

As I have documented before, I have had the pleasure of meeting Max on two occasions. In addition, I have close friends that interact with Max on a regular basis. One of the things that impresses me most about Max is that he  as genuine, caring and real as he appears behind the pen. What you read is who Max is. Which leads me to “Max on Life“, the latest offering from Max Lucado.

If you’re like me, Max isn’t just an author that you read. Max is a mentor and, in some ways, a friend. Imagine if a mentor and friend of yours sat down and wrote out his best advice on some of the tougher questions you will face in  your faith. Isn’t that something you would cherish and want to share with others?

Friends…Max has done just that.

Over all the years in his ministry, you can imagine the number of personal letters that Max has received. Heck, I might have even sent him a few myself. In those letters, you can imagine the questions. Tough questions. In order to best answer these questions, Max categorizes them into the following:

– Hope
– Hurt
– Help
– Him/Her
– Home
– Haves/Have-Nots
– Hereafter

In each section, Max shares the letters and his personal response to the questions. It reads like a letter from a friend. It feels like you’re sitting in his office, or his home, or a coffee shop and Max is sharing his heart. It’s wonderful. It’s healing. It is a must have for anyone that is a reader or fan of Max Lucado. If you go back and read all of my reviews of Max’s books, you’ll find a theme where I rate them well. That’s a given knowing how I feel about Max. This one is no different. However I recommend this book on the merit of it’s worth to those that will receive it. Even if you’ve never heard of Max, his heart pours out of the pages. His wisdom cannot be measured.

I give “Max On Life” a HUGE 5 out of 5!

Disclosure of Material Connection: Thomas Nelson Publishers sent me a free copy of this book as part of their bloggers book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

