Review – "Unleashed"

I recently received the book “Unleashed” by Erwin McManus from my friends at Booksneeze. Right after I posted something on twitter about it, my friend MudPuppy pointed out that he thought that this was a rebranded copy of “The Barbarian Way” by the same author. Once I received it, I can confirm that MudPuppy was correct…and I fell in love with this book all over again!

Originally given to me by my mentor after we both read “Wild At Heart”, this book is one you cannot read without wanting to take a hill, charge a battlefield or at the least, do something radical in your faith. As McManus points out throughout the book, Christ showed us the way. We are to live lives free to be ALL that God created us to be and not just creatures of comfort until the big party in the sky.

“God’s will for us is less about our comfort than it is about our contribution. God would never choose for us safety at the cost of significance. God created you so that your life would count, not so that you could count the days of your life.”

It is so easy for each of us to fall into a groove of comfort in our faith. Say a few prayers, hit the church on Sunday morning. Maybe do a few acts of service during the week or on Sunday and think we’re living as Christ called us to live. Are we? Really?

Unleashed will challenge you to get out of your zone of comfort and come out fighting! It will spark a flame within you to reach for the gifts that God wired you with and use them…FOR HIM. If you’re reading this and think this might apply to you, I cannot recommend “Unleashed” enough. As an aside, McManus is a UNC graduate, so I hold him in very high regard anyway…

I give Unleashed a 5 out of 5

Disclosure of Material Connection: Thomas Nelson Publishers sent me a free copy of this book as part of their bloggers book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

One thought on “Review – "Unleashed"

Leave a Reply

