Review – If God Why Evil?

Before I can begin any kind of review for this book, I need to be really clear about something….I’m not very bright. While I might have attended a Nazarene University (for a business degree), my depth and understanding of theology is REALLY lacking. It was very important that I establish that before venturing into this review.

I recently received a copy of the book “If God Why Evil” from my friends at Bethany House to review. When the opportunity came to review a book about this sensitive but popular topic, I jumped on it. This is one of those “can’t answer this side of Heaven” or “million dollar questions” that we all wrestle with. Not only do we wrestle with it, non-believers understandably wrestle with it too. It might even be what keeps them from moving from “non” to “believer”. It’s a tough one.

In his book, Dr. Geisler attacks this question through concise teaching and educated responses. He establishes several given responses through scripture to support his theory and position. I struggle to keep my focus at times but this has MUCH more to do with my lack of education and depth on this topic than the author’s writing. His arguments and supporting references are well stated and researched.

Based on the reviews I read on Amazon, I need to be fair and say that those with a better understanding of theology really enjoyed this book. Based on what I read and the strong reviews, clearly Dr. Geisler has the ability to connect and educate those with a higher knowledge of these topics. I am not one of those people. Sadly, I would be hesitant to pass this book along to a non-believer in the concern that it would confuse or frustrate them. I don’t think there is any problem with reading and educating yourself on this important topic. For me, it just lost me in the translation.

I give “If God Why Evil” a 3 out of 5.

Disclosure of Material Connection: Bethany House sent me a free copy of this book as part of their book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

