Review – Homeless For The Holidays

Tonight my family and I sat down to review a film called “Homeless For The Holidays“. I am glad that we took the opportunity to do so…as a family. Below is a video introduction to the film as told by the writers, directors and people who lived parts of this story. It is important to note that before viewing this film, understand where it comes from and how it was made. This is not a blockbuster, huge Hollywood budget film. After viewing it, I actually think it is better that way.

How good would a film about losing everything and understanding what matters most be if they spent millions of dollars making it? Wouldn’t that somewhat defeat the purpose? I often fall into a camp that struggles with films like “Fireproof” and “Facing The Giants“. Like a friend of mine often says, “if the acting was bad, it wasn’t a good film”. Don’t get me wrong, the message in both Fireproof and Giants was awesome. I just get uncomfortable with the acting.

This film has me changing my tune. Maybe because it could easily be me. In this economy, in this time, each of us could be a phone call away from seeing everything we own be gone very quickly. It was wonderful to watch this as a family entering the Holiday season. It gave us all perspective on the less fortunate and where our heart should be towards those in need. I really recommend viewing it together. You’ll be glad you did.

I give “Homeless For The Holidays” a 3 out of 5 for acting, 4 out of 5 for message.

Disclosure of Material Connection: BuzzBlogger sent me a free copy of this DVD as part of their bloggers review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

