Book Review – "Start"

I have a funny addiction. Well, some may call it funny, some may call it strange. I love Bibles. While that may sound great and like I am well versed in scripture, let me be really honest and say that isn’t true. I actually wish I would spend MORE time in all of the Bibles that I continue to accumulate. I have most every translation. I’ve got leather bound, old, new, paperback, hardback, you name it, I’ve got them. So when the opportunity came along to review “Start – The Bible For New Believers“, you can bet I jumped at the chance.

“Start!” is written in the New King James Version (NKJV) and is geared to new believers. Within each chapter, there are footnotes and sidebars to help the first time reader understand the text. For example, you will commonly find:

GROW entries, revealing key disciplines of the Christian life.

KNOW articles, exposing the core beliefs of the Christian life.

LIVE messages, focusing on various aspects of salvation.

LEARN notes, providing mini-commentaries on key passages for spiritual growth.

-Topical Index to articles and scriptures to help you find your way around the Bible.

-Greg Laurie’s Secrets to Spiritual Success to help you get started in the right direction.

-Introductions to each book of the Bible.

It is always interesting to review a Bible because, well, the verdict is already in on the content itself. However I look at the tools available when reviewing a Bible and “Start” provides great insight, especially for the new believer. The cover is paperback so this isn’t the Bible that someone will carry forever. It will, however, be a great resource for someone just starting their faith journey.

I give “Start!” a 4 out of 5

Disclosure of Material Connection: Thomas Nelson Publishers sent me a free copy of this book as part of their bloggers book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

One thought on “Book Review – "Start"

  1. Great review. BTW-Thank you for pointing out the new law “the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR Part 255” I was not aware of it. Have a blessed week

Leave a Reply

