Review – Choosing To SEE

As you can clearly see, I read a lot of books. I’ve read a lot of books. The short version of this post is that I just finished reading one of the best books I have read since I read “Quiet Strength” by Tony Dungy. The book I just finished is “Choosing To SEE” by Mary Beth Chapman. After completing the book last night, there are so many things I want to say and yet I’m not sure where to start.

When I was originally approached about reviewing “Choosing To See”, I accepted but in all honesty was a bit hesitant. I’m not sure how else to put this so I’ll just say it….I thought this would be a book that women would love but men wouldn’t really connect with. If you take one thing away from this post, I hope it is this…“Choosing To SEE” is a book for EVERYONE, not just women. This is not a Beth Moore bible study or something only moms would read. It’s the life story and journey of both Steven Curtis Chapman and his amazing wife Mary Beth. While I was still hesitant to read it, I was drawn into their journey early in the book and could not put it down.

As a father of 3 (2 of which are little girls), this book pulled at my heart strings. From their stories of adoption to the tragic death of little Maria Chapman, you will feel like you’re a part of the family. As Mary Beth relives the moments and events of that tragic day (later in the book) you feel as if you are there. You feel the pain, the hurt and the struggle. But just as Steven Curtis Chapman’s CD “Beauty Will Rise”, what begins as painfully honest and real is pulled together by the redeeming, restoring love that only God can bring. While I cannot imagine going through what this family has been through, you will SEE how God brought many “breadcrumbs” of hope in the months that have followed.

There is so much more I can say, but the bottom line is that “Choosing To SEE” is a book that I highly recommend. If you don’t have the “Beauty Will Rise” CD, I recommend getting them both together. Both are the honest, real, raw story telling from two parents that have lost their child to a tragedy. They openly struggle and wrestle with the same questions that each of us would have. Yet one thing is clear…their faith NEVER changes. They draw near to God and in their pain find meaning. I’m blessed to have read this book.

I give “Choosing To See” a 5 out of 5

Disclosure of Material Connection: Vining Media Relations sent me a free copy of this book. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

