Review – The Seven Minute Difference

I recently received a copy of “The Seven Minute Difference” by Allyson Lewis to review and apply to my busy work life. I am often asked how “how do you get it all done?”. As a father of 3, Director of an entire program for a Fortune 500 organization, blogger, twitter and so on, I can assure you that my life is never boring. Time is something I don’t have a lot of so I try to maximize each minute of the 24 hour day. Enter the Seven Minute Difference….

There are hundreds upon hundreds of time management books, seminars, podcasts and self help ideas on the market for people like me that procrastinate until the last minute. Allyson Lewis introduces the simple concept that “Monumental changes in our lives can happen in the most surprisingly small amounts of time.” She goes to great lengths in the book through examples, stories and personal experience to show just how decisions we make and actions we take in small amounts each day will prove to be life changing.

I was reminded of the old joke that says “How do you eat an elephant?” The answer is “one bite at a time”. Allyson Lewis begins the book by asking each reader to identify the goals in their life. Personal Goals, Health Goals, Financial Goals, Vocational Goals, Legacy Goals are all broken out. Once you have identified your goals, you have (my term here) identified the elephant. Now you go about making those changes in what Allyson calls “Micro-Actions”. Each day, each moment, each decision is a micro-action. If you want to run a marathon, you don’t start off by running 26 miles. You start with a walk, then a jog. The concept is the same using micro-actions and 7 minute decisions each day. You don’t destroy the manual, you take each instruction one small micro-action at a time.

I enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone that might be struggling with so much to do and so little time. This is not just a business book. This is a book for all of us to manage our time, our lives and our goals. Using the recommendations from Allyson in the book and aligning them with your personal/professional goals will be a first step to life changing moments. You can learn more about “The Seven Minute Difference” (HERE).

I give “The Seven Minute Difference” a 4 out of 5.

Disclosure of Material Connection: BuzzPlant sent me a free copy of this book and planner as part of their book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

