Review – The Least Among You

I recently received a copy of the movie “The Least Among You” from my friends at BookSneeze to review. I am so appreciative of the opportunity to review books and movies that it makes it tough when you have to write a bad one. With all apologies to BookSneeze and the makers of the film, I didn’t really care for this movie. The story…yes. The movie….no.

This, for me, goes to the age old debate of if we should call “Christian Films” good just because it had a good message and the acting was terrible (see also: “FireProof” and “Facing The Giants”). I’m actually not sure this was a “Christian Film” because it was clearly and I mean CLEARLY edited. There were several parts where the words that were mouthed and what was said were obviously two different things. I’m fine with that, but added to the lack of quality acting, it only made my review less favorable.

“The Least Among You” is inspired by the true story of Richard Kelly who was arrested in the 1965 Watts riots and had to attend an all-white seminary in order to serve his probation. The story is intriguing. What unfolds are the tough decisions that Richard Kelly must face and the mentoring of other people in his life. Though there were strong actors (Louis Gossett, Jr., Lauren Holly, William Devane), the acting was not strong. I would have almost rather have read a book about this story then watch it play out on film. While I feel bad doing so, I can’t really recommend “The Least Among You” as a must see film.

Overall I give “The Least Among You” a 2 out of 5.

Disclosure of Material Connection: Thomas Nelson Publishers sent me a free copy of this DVD as part of their bloggers book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

One thought on “Review – The Least Among You

  1. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

Leave a Reply

