Review – The Day Metallica Came To Church

Wow I have wrestled with this post. I received the book “The Day Metallica Came To Church” by Jon Van Sloten well over a month ago. I usually “turn and burn” books and review very quickly but this one has been different. Given the title of the book, you might think it’s because I struggled with Metallica and Church being mentioned in the same sentence. If you’ve followed along here or know me at all, you know that is NOT the case. I actually embraced the title and couldn’t wait to read it.

If you comb through the archives of this blog you will find post after post where I have referenced lyrics from Billy Joel, Eminem, TLC, P!nk, Garth Brooks, Kenny Chesney, Creed and Gary Allen (to name a few) as devotional posts. The very backbone of a majority of my blog is built on finding God in the most unusual places and ways. I believe we can “hear from God” while listening to artists outside the usual Casting Crowns, MercyMe and Chris Tomlin. My iTunes is filled with artists that, sadly, have never made a faith proclamation (that I’m aware of). But this isn’t about me….

The book “The Day Metallica Came To Church” is based on one Pastors belief of what I just outlined in the above paragraph (thus my excitement to read the book). I thought we would be aligned and I would have found an author/Pastor that supports my beliefs. That’s why it was odd when I didn’t connect right away. I can’t say I disagreed with anything that John Van Sloten was saying or that I don’t support the way that he is building his church and reaching people. If he’s getting people saved and it works where he is then by all means…preach it brother!

For some odd reason I just didn’t connect. Based on other reviews I read, this one might just be a disconnect for me and not other readers. Maybe John Van Sloten and I think TOO much alike. His outlining of how he used artists, movies, finance, art, pop-culture as sermon outlines are pretty fascinating. Even to the point where his congregation is making “requests” on things for him to preach on. Again I say..preach it brother!

“The Day Metallica Came To Church” is a good read. It’s an interesting read. It’s not all about Metallica (actually a very small portion has to do with even that sermon series) and more about our need to expand our scope and see God in other places. We need to hold onto truth. We need to discern, but we also need to see outside our sanctuary to see that God can and will speak through amazing ways if we are looking and listening.

I give “The Day Metallica Came To Church” a 4 out of 5

2 thoughts on “Review – The Day Metallica Came To Church

  1. I am very interested in reading this book. Thanks so much for your review! I am a huge music person…my playlist is very eclectic and some say I strip their transmissions with my ipod. It’s just been in the last few years that I have found myself reading into some of the lyrics of some of the songs. Not only hearing God but also hearing the cries out to Him.
    When does the book hit the shelves? The lady at Mardel’s looked at me like I was crazy when i ask her about it. LOL

    1. Hey Lorie –

      It’s now. You can get it here – http://www.faithaliveresources.org/Metallica

      You’ll enjoy it. I’ve always said that all but one small part of Billy Joel’s “Don’t Go Changin'” could be a praise and worship song. It’s like a letter written from God to each and every person on the planet. Someday if I start a church we’ll sing that there 🙂

      It’s amazing what you can find in lyrics when you listen beyond recreationally. This book gives great insight into several popular things from culture and a road map to find God in them. Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

