Review – "Permission To Speak Freely"

Have you ever given the “gift of going second”? I was first introduced to this concept when I recently read the book “Stuff Christians Like” by Jonathan Acuff. The idea being that when we are in a small group or church or writing a blog post and step out to confess our deepest secrets, we set the bar for others to then do the same. By “going first”, we allow others the permission to share as well by giving the “gift of going second” and proclaiming “me too”. I just completed the book “Permission to Speak Freely” by Anne Jackson and it is the epitome of giving such a gift.

Permission to Speak Freely was born out of a simple blog post that Anne Jackson wrote in 2008 with the following question:

“What is the one thing you feel you can’t say in the church?”

The post blew up (so to speak) and received hundreds of comments. It lead to a movement and a web site entirely dedicated to that one question. From the web site and the blog post come this incredible book about being honest, being real, being broken and speaking freely. Anne Jackson doesn’t just write the book to tell us how we don’t do these things, she fills the pages with HER story.

She gives the gift of going second

To all that read this incredible book, you will be moved to search your heart and soul for those things you don’t talk about. The addictions, the pain, the broken parts we so often feel that if others won’t see, God won’t see. This isn’t a book about how wrong we are for having them and hiding them. This is a book about the fact that we ALL have them and a great many of us HIDE them. Even Anne Jackson. While I am familiar with her story, I was inspired by her transparency and willingness to show what speaking freely is all about. This is one of the best books I have read in quite some time. It will be a gift to many in the future and a book I will return to again and again.

I give “Permission To Speak Freely” a 5 out of 5!

Disclosure of Material Connection: Thomas Nelson Publishers sent me a free copy of this book as part of their bloggers book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

