Review – "We Cry Out"

Since his first CD, I have been a fan of Jeremy Camp. His testimony gives his lyrics and music so much more than just words and music. As his career has evolved, he has filled Sunday morning services with anthems and has created songs that many identify their personal journeys with. On Tuesday, August 24th, Jeremy Camp will release his 6th studio project called “We Cry Out – The Worship Project”. I had the privilege to preview the CD and it is one you will want to add to your collection.

Jeremy Camp took this project personally. This isn’t just a compilation of great worship music. Camp entered the studio with a mission.

“It’s common to say, ‘Its not about me, God. It’s about You.’ Yet I’m really at that point right now,” Camp admits. “The Lord says in Jeremiah 29:13, ‘You will see me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.’ But we live in such a distracted society; we let the world’s noise divide our focus and our hearts. Our generation is in desperate need of crying out to God.”

On “We Cry Out”, Jeremy Camp is creating an opportunity for each of us to listen to reminders of that desperate need to cry out to our God. While more than half of the CD will be familiar to many, the additions Jeremy added are just as worthy of our attention and thoughts. As we listened in the car, my son said “Dad, can you turn that up…we know this song” (Referring to Never Let Go). The song “Overcome” is an incredible anthem to God’s active grace and power. According to Jeremy Camp:

“During the recording, there was a spontaneous moment of worship. The producer raised his hands, and my father was there;  he stood up and worshipped. I had to stop singing from all the emotion. We felt God’s Spirit was so thick in the room – and I would never say that lightly.”

To give some perspective, “Overcome” is 8 minutes long on the CD. I’m told the radio edit will be cut to a little over 3 minutes. After reviewing Jeremy Camp’s latest offering, I have even more admiration for the artist, the man, the father, husband and fellow brother in Christ. I accept his call to step away from the distractions and join him in worship of our Creator. I hope you do too.

I give “We Cry Out” a 5 out of 5.

Disclosure of Material Connection: Overture Media sent me a free copy of this CD. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

