Review – "Jesus Wants To Save Christians"

This one took a few days to process. I’m a fan of Rob Bell. He’s authored two of my favorite books – “Velvet Elvis” and “Sex God“. So it was with great anticipation that I downloaded “Jesus Wants To Save Christians“. While Bell has many critics, I have always viewed his writing and preaching with a saying my Mom used to tell me. She would say “take what you think speaks to you and throw the rest away”. Some see Bell as a lightning rod that has driven some of the emerging church movement. I chose to see his writing as a fresh perspective and, if nothing else, an opportunity to pause and think.

“Jesus Wants to Save Christians” is a pretty slow read for a better part of the first half. What Rob Bell does in these chapters is build his case, scripturally, for the second half of the book. I give him credit for not jumping right into a rant about war, the church and America’s sense of entitlement. Don’t get me wrong, he gets to that, but he builds a case based on scripture for each point. You know he’s building to that, so at times you wish he would just get there.

When he does finally start to outline some of the statistics about America and our consumption vs. the rest of the world, it is alarming. It’s the elephant in the middle of the room and he’s identifying it. He makes a compelling case that America, and the church, need to wake-up to Gods call to take care of the widow, the orphan and the less fortunate. Check out this one statistic alone…

“Americans spend more annually on trash bags than nearly half of the world does on all goods”

Wow. That jumped out of the book to me. Incredible. As Bell said, “We say God bless America…God has”. Overall, I didn’t love this book as much as the others I have read by Rob Bell. It was slow to the point, but the point is one which we should take very seriously.

I give “Jesus Wants To Save Christians” a 3 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

