Review – Newsboys "Born Again"

Continuing “Review Week” here at the blog, today we’ll take a look at “Born Again” by The Newsboys. I received a copy of the CD from my friend Matt at Vining Media Relations to review and provide my feedback. I’m honored to have the opportunity to pass the word as this is once CD that I am really starting to put on regular rotation. This is a new chapter for the Newsboys as they release their 15th studio project.

To date, this GRAMMY®-nominated and Dove Award-winning band has achieved what few artists have in their lifetime. They’ve sold over 6.5 million units, have five Gold albums and 26 #1 hits, and are renown for their heart-pumping live shows. And it was just last year when longtime members Jody Davis (guitar), keyboardist Jeff Frankenstein and drummer Duncan Phillips welcomed the vocal strengths, writing talents and boundless energy of former dc Talk member Michael Tait to the band – clearly a good reason for newsboys to feel born again and share some brand new songs!

That’s right…Michael Tait! I have mentioned this several times before but when dc Talk split several years ago, my allegiance (if there is such a thing), went to Michael Tait. Since that time I have grown to be a big TobyMac fan all the while following Michael Tait’s career closely. When he was announced as the new lead singer of Newsboys, I thought it was a great fit. He has a distinct voice and incredible talent. Listening to the CD you will hear that both the Newsboys and Michael Tait have been born again! They are a perfect fit.

The CD includes 10 new songs and covers of “Mighty to Save” and “Jesus Freak”. The more I listen the more I like this offering from Newsboys. If I’m honest, it’s weird to Tait’s voice and not hear TobyMac, but that is just something I’ll have to get used to. Overall I like this first collaboration by the group and look forward to what they produce in the future!

I give “Born Again” a 4 out of 5.

Disclosure of Material Connection: Vining Media Relations sent me a free copy of this CD. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

5 thoughts on “Review – Newsboys "Born Again"

  1. What happened to the old lead singer? I still remember him climbing scaffolding during shows int he 90-94 eras (I’ve allowed my musical tastes to backslide a tad since then).

  2. “Mighty to Save” is done very well. “Jesus Freak” sounds pretty much like the original. They didn’t do much to change it up. The entire CD is pretty good. There are a few real gems. Tait sounds great as the front man.

Leave a Reply

