Book Review – Plan B

I mentioned this in an earlier post, but when the opportunity to review “Plan B” by Pete Wilson presented itself a few weeks ago, bloggers across the country were waiting like fans in line for a concert to snatch up a copy. We knew there would be 500 of them and the servers at Thomas Nelson felt the brunt of the rush to get them. When the dust cleared, I had a copy with my name on it and I am forever grateful. Plan B is an incredible book. It’s a book that I will probably buy a case of and just keep them handy. There’s not a person I know that hasn’t or won’t one day face “Plan B” for their life. What is “Plan B”?

We don’t get THAT job

We get test results we weren’t expecting

We are unable to have children

We attend a funeral and ask “why at such a young age”

The reality is that either you’ve been hit with a “Plan B”, know someone that has, or may be one phone call from one. I’m pretty sure I am not alone in saying that I have no answers. After reading “Plan B” I still don’t. What I do have is a different perspective. Pete Wilson fills fourteen chapters exploring the how, the why and wrestling openly with the questions that so many of us have. He mixes strong words for the church with loving words for the “Plan B-ers”. There were multiple chapters that I wrestled with. While I have had a fair share of Plan B’s, I’ve also attended way too many funerals, prayed too many prayers that I just don’t understand why I should even have to pray and mourned for things that just don’t make sense……to me.

There are more takeaways in Plan B than I can cover in one simple blog post. If you follow me on Twitter you probably noted that the quotes were, at times, non-stop. As I read, I was not only challenged personally, but thought of so many that could also find comfort, peace and hope by reading Plan B. I was rocked by a chapter called “Darkness” and the all-to-often phrase of “God will never give you more than you can handle”. From page 102:

Here’s the truth-and this one is throughly biblical: throughout life you will face one situation after another that will be completely beyond what you can handle.

Wow that was tough to hear. We like the other version better. It feels right when someone says that doesn’t it? Pete’s point is that we must make a choice – “either abandon God or worship him in the midst of our Plan B”. He points to Paul in 2 Corinthians 2:7 which, as odd as it is, is one of my favorite verses in scripture. Like I said, I’ve faced many Plan B’s. That is why this book hit home. A chapter called “Your Jordan” brought memories of our journey to Charlotte and the many lessons we would learn from it. From page 42:

What is your Jordan River? What is your Plan B situation? Where is God asking you to take a seemingly impossible step, a step of faith?

Last night the kids were watching the National Geographic Channel and a special about a volcano in Iceland. The footage showed flood waters destroying roads and entire communities. I thought back to this chapter on the Jordan because those were the conditions when God asked Joshua to cross over it. Can you imagine? Maybe you can. Maybe that is what God is asking you to do today. The unthinkable. The difficult.

Friends I can go on and on about “Plan B”. The bottom line is that if could ever recommend one book for “such a time as this” it would be “Plan B” by Pete Wilson. Don’t misunderstand, this doesn’t hold the keys. “Plan B” doesn’t hold the answers to all of our problems. It does, however, go to those places that many of us act like we are not going through. It calls them out and allows us to examine why, how and what God maybe saying to us.

One final thought. Pete Wilson spends some pages looking at the promise of Easter Sunday. But to get to Sunday, there was Friday when everything went bad. What we also forget is that wedged in between Good Friday and Easter Sunday was Saturday. A day when it appeared that all was lost. A day when the hope was gone and the answers were nowhere to be found. I know a few people that are looking at Saturday at this very moment. To you I would say “don’t forget Sunday”. While it feels like God is silent as we face our Saturdays, there is a beauty that will unfold on Sunday.

It might not be tomorrow

It might not be this side of Heaven.

Plan B’s happen. The darkness comes and it feels like God is silent. Sunday will be here before we know it. Hold on.

I give Plan B by Pete Wilson a 5 out of 5.

Plan B by Pete Wilson is available today through Amazon.com

Disclosure of Material Connection: Thomas Nelson Publishers sent me a free copy of this book as part of their bloggers book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

2 thoughts on “Book Review – Plan B

  1. I started to purchase this a week or so ago at our campus ministry training conference and realized, “Hey! I’m living ‘Plan B’ not sure I need to read about it.”

    It is on my ‘down-the-road-to-read’ list though.

  2. Wow.
    This looks and sounds amazing.
    Thanks for sharing. I will definitely be passing this along and reading it myself.

Leave a Reply

