For Such a Time as This

For such a time as this, I was placed upon this earth. To hear the voice of God and do His will, whatever it is.” -Wayne Watson

During my travel yesterday (delays, cancellations and all) I powered my way through the book “Confessions of a Reformission Rev.” by Mark Driscoll. If you follow this blog regularly, you know that I really enjoy the teaching and preaching of Driscoll. Sure, Mark has his critics but so did Paul. He’s abrasive at times but he reminds me of one of those friends that you have that tells it like it is no matter what. There are times when you can’t believe they just said what they said, but you were thinking the same thing. They just had the guts to say it.

As I reflected on the book this morning, I was reminded of how fortunate we are to live in this time and this place. With the internet and the media available we have access to so much outstanding teaching. Imagine the ministry of Paul had he lived in a time where his podcasts could be heard across the world. Imagine if his writings were published and blogged in real time. I’m thankful that God has placed me in this time in history to have access to what I do.

I have also learned that God in His wisdom places books in my hand at the perfect time. To read a book about a church that is on a mission and made tough decisions to continue that mission (at all costs) was so refreshing. I was inspired and encouraged. I’m challenged by their commitment to advancing the Kingdom. Lastly, I am evaluating why God has placed me here for such a time as this.

One thought on “For Such a Time as This

  1. Through some crazy link backing, I found this blog while doing some Driscoll searching.

    I agree that we live in an amazing time as I am able to Podcast and Vodcast Mark Driscoll, Matt Chandler, Perry Noble, Rob Bell and a few others. I have such a wealth of information at my disposal that I feel truly blessed to be on the East Coast and still be ministered to by Mark (on the West Coast).

Leave a Reply

